Snowball Derby By the Numbers

Snowball Derby By the Numbers

A Little Fun Looking at the Numbers Before the Snowball Derby
By 51 Staff

Numbers, numbers and more numbers; took a look at a few numbers that will get you prepared for the 46th annual Snowball Derby weekend.

0 – The total number of wins by some of the biggest names in short track racing history including: Bobby Allison, Johnny Benson Jr., Mike Eddy, Red Farmer, Junior Hanley, Scott Hansen, Mark Martin, Freddie Query, Jim Sauter, Bob Senneker, Rusty Wallace and more. Each of those drivers tried, but never got to victory lane in the Snowball Derby.

The list goes even further with some of the greatest drivers in history; The late Dale Earnhardt tried once in 1977. He finished 36th. The late Davey Allison tried five times with a best showing of a 15th in 1985. The late Dick Trickle raced in four Derby’s, finishing fifth twice in 1979 and 1984 and the late Joe Shear’s best effort in four appearances was a fourth place in 1980.

0 – Number of drivers who have swept both the Snowball Derby and the Snowflake 100 in the same weekend. The closest to do it was Augie Grill in 2007 as he finished third in that years’ Snowflake before winning the Derby the next day.

2 – Number of times since 2006 the winner of the race did not pass post-race inspection. We don’t like to sensationalize the act of disqualification, but the rules are strict to the letter at Five Flags Speedway, especially for the Derby and the Snowflake. Speed51 will have their eye on tech in the tech line all week long starting on Wednesday, December 4th on, appropriately enough, Tech Day.

2 – The number of wins by Chase Elliott and Augie Grill in the Snowflake 100. Both drivers are tied for the most Snowflake wins in the event’s history.

3 – The number of all-time Snowball Derby Pole Awards won by Eddie Mercer and Bobby Gill. Both drivers are tied for the most Derby Poles all-time.

4 – The number of cars that will transfer from the 50-Lap Last Chance Race for the Snowball Derby if both provisional spots are filled.

5 – The number of wins by Rich Bickle Jr., at the Snowball Derby. He’s got the most victories as he has won five times in 11 starts. A nice 0.454 batting average for the driver who is retiring at the end of the 46th Derby.

5 – The number of support divisions that will race throughout Snowball Derby Week; Sportsman and Bombers (Thursday, December 5th), Modifieds and Super Stocks (Friday, December 6th) and Pro Trucks (Saturday, December 7th) will also get their chance to shine throughout the week.

7 – The race will be run on December 8th for the seventh time in its history, including the very first Snowball Derby in 1968. Wayne Niedecken won the Inaugural Derby while Pete Hamilton (1974), Jody Ridley (1985), Rich Bickle Jr. (1991 & 1996) and Ricky Turner (2002) have won the race on the same date as this year’s edition Only once prior in history had a driver won two Derbys on the same date – five-time Winner, Bickle Jr. Will a third victory on this date, and sixth overall be in the cards for the Edgerton, Wisconsin driver?

7 – Number of times the race has been won from the pole. The last driver to do it was Eddie Mercer in 2005.

$10 – Each JEGS Lap led is worth $10 to the leader in both the Snowball Derby and the Snowflake 100

12 – The number of top five finishes Jody Ridley has collected over the years of the Snowball Derby. That’s the most of any driver all-time in the 45 Snowball Derbys held.

14 – The 14th Annual Snowball Showdown, the Snowball Derby of go-kart races, will be held on Thursday, December 5th at Fast Eddies Fun Center on 505 Michigan Avenue in Pensacola, Florida.

16.145 – The all-time Super Late Model Track Record currently held by Bubba Pollard and set this season during a Southern Super Series event on May 24th, 2013.

16.290 – The Snowball Derby Super Late Model Track Record that was also set by Pollard on December 3rd, 2012.

16.602 – The all-time Pro Late Model Track Record set by Bryce Dulabhan on September 28th, 2013.

17 – The age of defending Snowball Derby Winner, Erik Jones who will be back to defend his title driving the No. 51 Kyle Busch Motorsports entry – the same car he beat to win the 2012 Derby.

28 – Number of Snowball Derby attempts by Junior Niedecken and David Rogers without a win – tied for most of any active driver in Derby history. Niedecken’s best effort was a second in 1990 while Rogers’ highest finish was a fourth back in 1979.

30 – The number of cars that get locked into the 46th annual Snowball Derby on Friday night in WXBM Pole Qualifying. Also the number of cars that will lock themselves in after Snowflake 100 Qualifying on Saturday afternoon.

34 – Different Winners of the 45 Snowball Derbys.

37 – The pre-set number of starting spots for both Late Model races.

41.0 – The percentage of laps completed by Augie Grill since his last win at the Snowball Derby.

46 – This year’s running of the Snowball Derby is 46th running. Another chapter is set to begin later this week right here on Speed51.

51 – The only number you need to know when it comes to coverage. is the online home for all things Snowball Derby and Snowflake related.

99 – The famous number of the Niedecken family. Wayne Niedecken won twice including the inaugural race in 1968 and again in 1970. His son Junior Niedecken has been in 28 Derbys.

100 – The number of laps of the Allen Turner Snowflake 100.

112 – The car number that both Augie Grill and Gary Balough ran to two Snowball Derby wins each.

300 – Number of laps schedule to be run in the Snowball Derby.

398 – Most laps led in Snowball Derby History without a win in the race, by Freddie Query.

438 – Number of drivers who have started the Snowball Derby from 1970-2012. (Results from the 1968 and 1969 are incomplete)

752 – Most laps led in Snowball Derby history, by Eddie Mercer.

1953 – The year the track opened on Pine Forest Road in Pensacola.

1968 – The first year of the Snowball Derby. It was 200-lap event that year.

2003 – The year Charlie Bradberry flew in late from the NASCAR banquet, started shotgun on the field and won the race after an epic battle with Gary St. Amant.

2,500 – A rough estimate of how many tires that will be mounted by Hoosier officials at the track.

$7,000 – The winner’s share of the Snowflake 100, plus JEGS Lap money.

$22,500 – The winner’s share of the Snowball Derby, plus JEGS Lap money.


Share this post

Leave a comment