Champions Recognized at Awards Banquet, Ublestead is Ironman

Five Flags Speedway closed out the 2019 season one last time on Saturday Night, by honoring the Track Champions at their Annual Awards Banquet. The Hadji Shrine Temple made for a perfect setting as a large crowd paid tribute to 6 Track Champions, plus 2019 Southern Super Series Champion Casey Roderick.

Roderick became the first 2 time SSS Champion, with back to back title runs in 2018 and 2019.
Robert Balkum was a back to back Champion as well, winning the title for the second year in a row in the Lloyd’s Glass Pure Stock Division.

Not to be out done, Mobile driver Mark Barnhill scored his second consecutive Championship in the Dock of Pensacola Beach Sportsman Division. Former Modified Champion Chris Cotto shocked the Outlaw Division in 2019 by winning the title in Steve Clarks potent hot rod. Joshua Hicks, unable to attend due to a Legends Car commitment, claimed the title in the Pro Truck Division.

Also unable to join the night’s festivities was New York driver Giovanni Bromante, the 2019 Deep South Cranes Blizzard Series Champion. Gio had a phenomenal season in the Anthony Campi Racing entry, also capturing the Southern Super Series Rookie of the Year honors. Fresh off a second place finish in the 52nd Annual Snowball Derby, young Jake Garcia was in attendance to claim his Allen Turner Pro Late Model Series Championship.

A special honoree was David Uebelsteadt, a longtime track employee, who added his name to the illustrious list of Rex E. Brooks Ironman Award winners.